2018 Arkansas Environmental Policy Summit- Registration Details and Agenda

Join us for our 3rd Annual Environmental Policy Summit! 

The Environmental Policy Summit will provide attendees with the opportunity to hear from leading experts on the current state of environmental issues. Attendees will learn how recent policy changes will affect our environment, our economy, the lives of Arkansans and what actions they can take to protect and improve our environment.

Keynote Speaker: Gov. Bill Ritter of Colorado

Event partners:

  • Arkansas Public Policy Panel
  • Audubon Arkansas
  • Sierra Club of Arkansas



8:15 - Registration & Networking (With Coffee and Pastries)    

8:30 – Plenary Session I (Grand Hall - UA-Pulaski Technical College)

  • Welcoming Remarks
  • Keynote – Governor Bill Ritter of Colorado

Bill Ritter was the 41st Governor of Colorado, serving in office from 2007 until 2011. Progressive energy policy was a hallmark of his administration. Since leaving office, Governor Ritter has continued to work in energy. In 2011, he founded the Center for the New Energy Economy, at Colorado State University. The mission of the organization is to advise state governments on energy transition.

9:40 - Break

9:45 - Breakout Session I

  • Grand Hall
  • Clean Power Plan vs. Affordable Clean Energy Rule: What do the Changes Mean for Arkansas?

A panel of experts will take a closer look at the administration’s proposed changes in national clean air regulations and provide analysis on how the proposed changes will impact Arkansas.


Stuart Spencer- Associate Director Office of Air Quality, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality

Dr. Joseph Bates- Associate Dean for Public Health Practice, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health

Cherelle Blazer- Senior Campaign Representative, Louisiana and Arkansas Sierra Club Beyond Coal Campaign. 

Moderator: Gary Moody- Interim Executive Director, Audubon Arkansas

  • 2nd Floor Lecture Hall
  • Water in Arkansas, the Buffalo and Beyond

Panelists will discuss the water quality issues Arkansas faces and how these challenges are being addressed.


Caleb Osbourne- Associate Director Office of Water Quality, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
Gordon Watkins- President Buffalo River Alliance
Ross Noland- Owner, Noland Law Firm P.A., Executive Director Buffalo River Foundation

Moderator: Debbie Doss- Director of  Arkansas Water Trails Partnership

10:30 - Networking Break

10:45 - Breakout Session II

  • Grand Hall
  • Energy Empowerment: Increasing Efficiency and Accessibility for Everyone


John Bethel- Director of Public Affairs, Entergy Arkansas Inc.
Shawn Mc Murray, Office of Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge
Rev. Malik Saafir- Senior Pastor of Theresa Hoover United Methodist Church
Josh Davenport-Chief Executive Officer, Seal Energy Corp.
Moderator: Mitchell Simpson, Director of Arkansas Energy Office (AEO), a division of the AR Dept. of Environmental Quality

  • 2nd Floor Lecture Hall
  • Looking Ahead: A 2019 Environmental Legislative Preview

Want to know what environmental issues and policy changes are likely to be brought up in the upcoming legislative session? Join this expert led discussion on proposals to watch during the 2019 General Session.


Michael Grappe- Chief Program Officer, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
Donna Gray- Executive Director, Arkansas Public Service Commission
Dr. Ford Baldwin- Owner, Practical Weed Consultants.
Moderator: Katie Niebaum- Executive Director, Arkansas Advanced Energy Association

11:45 – Plenary Session II (Grand Hall - UA-Pulaski Technical College)

  • Luncheon
  • Keynote- Deeohn Ferris, Vice-President Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, National Audubon Society

Ferris leads equity, diversity and inclusion initiatives across Audubon’s 700-person staff, board of directors, 1.1 million members, 463 local chapters and more than 60 local and regional advisory boards.

1:00 - Closing Remarks and Recognitions

Get Involved